[서울신문] Messi stops playing in two matches for the price of the back head

▲ Barcelona’s Lionel Messi is leaving the ground after receiving a red card in the Spanish Super Cup final against Athletic Bilbao on the 18th. Reuters Yonhap News


Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona), who received his first red card as a pro for striking the back of an opponent who defended himself roughly, was suspended in two matches.

The match committee of the Spanish Football Association punished Messi on the 20th (Korean time). Messi hit the head of Asier Villalibre in the extra time in the second half of extra time when they were dragged 2-3 in the Spanish Supercopa (Super Cup) final against Athletic Bilbao on the 18th. When Viyalibre hit the shoulder twice with a strong strike, it seems that he couldn’t stand the anger momentarily in the process of defeating it. The referee pulled out a red card to Messi through video reading (VAR). It was the first time in 753 matches that Messi was sent off wearing a Barcelona uniform.

Messi’s disciplinary action prevented him from entering the round of 32 of the Copa del Rey (Kings Cup) against Cornella (Part 3) on the 22nd and La Liga against Elche on the 25th. It was predicted that up to 12 games could be suspended, but the worst situation was avoided. However, Barcelona are planning to appeal that the suspension of the two matches is also unfair.

Reporter Hong Ji-min [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.