Historic Haaland on this year’s team in the world

IN CELEBERT COMPANY: Erling Braut Haaland is indisputably one of the world’s best football players. On Monday night, he received recognition for the achievements he delivered in 2021.

Erling Braut Haaland (21) is the first Norwegian to join this year’s team in the world. Bundesliga top scorer rival Robert Lewandowski (33) walked away with the award as player of the year in the world.


– This is a free motivation to continue. I want to thank my teammates who have made this possible. I’ve always loved watching players score goals. It’s even better to score my own, says Erling Braut Haaland when asked by former Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger on stage.

On Monday night, the “FIFA The Best” award went off the rails. This year’s students in the world were chosen. Haaland, who was the top scorer in the Champions League last season, was nominated along with Karim Benzema, Cristiano Ronaldo, Robert Lewandowski, Romelu Lukaku, Kylian Mbappé, Lionel Messi and Neymar in the front line.

Four of them joined the star-studded team in a somewhat untraditional line-up:

Gianluigi Donnarumma – David Alaba, Ruben Dias, Leonardo Bonucci – Jorginho, N’Golo Kanté, Kevin de Bruyne – Cristiano Ronaldo, Erling Haaland, Robert Lewandowski, Lionel Messi.

Haaland scored 41 goals for Borussia Dortmund last season and stands with 21 so far after an autumn mainly marked by injuries. Still, it held a place on this year’s team in the world.

Thus, Jærbuingen elicited world stars such as Mohamed Salah, Neymar and Kylian Mbappé. But Haaland is still in good company in the front row of the team, where he is flanked by Robert Lewandowski, Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi.

Haaland was also among the ten nominees in the selection of the best male football player of the year, but did not reach when the final field was reduced to three men. Robert Lewandowski eventually won ahead of Lionel Messi and Mohamed Salah.

On the women’s side, Caroline Graham Hansen was nominated for team of the year, but the Barcelona star did not make it.

These were named team of the year on the women’s side:

Christiane Endler – Lucy Bronze, Wendie Renard, Millie Bright, Magdalena Eriksson – Estefanía Banini, Carli Lloyd, Barbara Bonansea, Vivanne Miedema, Martha, Alex Morgan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.